Gen. Tinio, Nueva Ecija

I have been hearing and reading about this green river between walls of limestones located two hours away from my hometown. I’m embarrassed that I haven’t seen the beauty Nueva Ecija has to offer, so I gave into my feet’s need to go somewhere.

20170218_114921ed

A protected area, the Minalungao National Park is continuously being developed by the local community. The entrance fee is Php 50 per person, and I heard it’s soon to double. Aside from swimming, guests can enjoy these activities:

  • Kayaking
  • Rafting
  • Zip lining
  • Caving
  • Trekking
  • Camping

20170218_111704-1

Each family in the area owns a raft, which tourists can rent for Php 500 and use the entire day. A raft is good for a group of 8. Depending on the group’s weight and raft’s size, a 9th or 10th person can be accommodated.

It’s interesting to know that a family cannot own more than one raft, limiting their income especially if tourists would take advantage of the no time limit offer. From the Php 500, the rafter gets Php 200. If the raft needs two or three drivers, they will split the Php 200, so the owner always gets Php 300.

20170218_124429

There’s also a little cave. It’s accessible because there are stairs. It’s also easy to find but young – as in children – tour guides are there to take you to the cave if you want. However, I guarantee you don’t need one. LOL It’s not a big cave – not a maze – I’m sure you can find your way out. Just don’t forget to bring a flashlight.

20170218_131751
Pretty complicated stairs, huh?

There was a girl who sat beside us on the raft and offered to guide me and my sibling. I didn’t think we need her-I could see where tourists and their guides were going, and I brought a headlamp-but she just won’t leave. We ended up going to the cave with her. LOL

20170218_123915

One more thing: tour guides here don’t have a set rate. I have read 5 activities to do in Minalungao National Park by BROKETRAVELER-IVAN though where he shared that the fee was Php 100. However, our guide said some nice tourists give Php 300. If you’re feeling generous, go ahead and hire a tour guide, but I think this “tour” is BS. Kill me for being honest. 😀

psx_20170219_093133

Anyway, we spent the rest of the day doing taking photos. There are plenty of spots for photo ops.

20170218_125919
Climb up a rock
20170218_130016
Worry about climbing down later

We weren’t able to try kayaking because the current got too strong. The lady at the booth won’t let us, so we went to the hanging bridge as an alternative. No, we didn’t do the zip line.

20170218_130431
Makes me think I’m in an Anaconda movie
