Whenever April and her family would go out of town, she invites me but I would usually say no because of other stuff. This weekend, I got to finally say yes. Another sabit like me was Rigor, April’s friend from high school. 😜

San Juan, La Union

San Juan is the nearest and cheapest surfing destination for us. Thanks to NLEX and TPLEX, it takes only 4 to 5 hours to get to La Union, a popular place for beginner and pro surfers alike.

image

Early Bird

We left Caloocan at around 5 a.m. and arrived at San Juan Surf Resort before lunchtime. The reservation was for 2 o’clock, so we rented one of the cottages on the beach (P100 per person) and had our packed lunch.

image

The Basics

We started our basic surfing lessons around 3 p.m. Unfortunately, the waves weren’t that big, making it easy for us to pop up. I was able to surf by my third attempt and got knocked by a surfing board once or twice, but who cares? 🙂

image
Local surfers teaching us the proper way to stand on a surfing board

image

image

image

image

image
Done for the day

Hungry Birds

We were so hungry after surfing and falling a couple of times. We feasted at Coast Call Kitchen & Bar.

image

image

The Tragic

It was Palm Sunday so the area was so quiet. We My buddies decided to drink; I slept. The villa was tempting but we pitched a tent instead. Aren’t waves so soothing? Not for my friend (LOL). I was sleeping by 10 while she was counting stars. I fell asleep in a few seconds even if we forgot to flatten the sand. My back ached the next morning. 😂

dsc_0424.jpg-1.jpg

The next day, we had coffee and bread for breakfast, took some photos, and went back to the sea right away. One of us tried surfing again; it was too early for me.

image

image

image

We returned to CCKB for another breakfast (we love breakfast). Their pancakes are heaven!

image

image

I would have a meeting early in the evening, so Rigor and I had to say bye to April and her family, the sea, and San Juan. We will definitely be back!

image

Photo © Rigor Yutuc

